Not logged in. Login - Register

All new registrations need to be approved manually. After registration, mail me at tyblossom at aol dot com.
ChaseChat is available for Smartphones via Tapatalk, Download the app at http://tapatalk.com/m?id=4&referer=1048173. After installing CLICK HERE to add the forum to Tapatalk.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Poor Eric Sloane, so misunderstood
08-09-2018, 10:23 AM, (This post was last modified: 08-09-2018, 01:03 PM by crazyfamily.)
“I think in some ways I'm a failure because people think I'm a painter of barns and a writer of nostalgia,” he says. “It's not what I've been trying to do. I hate nostalgia. It's a dreaded disease.” Hmm, I don't know what would make people think that!
08-09-2018, 11:49 AM, (This post was last modified: 08-09-2018, 01:07 PM by crazyfamily.)
Wink  Poor Eric Sloane, so misunderstood
Here's an excellent counterpoint to Sloane's Spirit of '76.

https://confusedwoodworker.wordpress.com...ic-sloane/

Quote:"If Sloane were alive, I would point out to him that most modern Americans spend far more time at work than their ancestors did."

"Another issue I have with that comment is Sloane himself. Sloane worked as an artist for his entire life, and later wrote books on subjects like colonial America, woodworking, and barn construction. From what research I’ve done on his life, I can’t find anywhere a history of Sloane working at physical jobs such as farming or construction, yet he seems at ease telling everybody else that they don’t work hard enough. While art work and writing are certainly worth jobs, they are hardly physical labor."

We've had times when we worked two and three jobs that just payed the bills and allowed for a little fun like downtown movies and Dr. Peppers. My own father never worked so much, and yet he held the same beliefs as Sloane. The younger generation doesn't know how to work? Sorry, you guys are wrong.

razyfamily
08-09-2018, 10:19 PM,
RE: Poor Eric Sloane, so misunderstood